On the eighth day, Aaron and his sons begin to prepare as kohanim (priests); a fire from G‑d burns the offerings on the altar, and the divine presence is felt in the Sanctuary. Aaron’s two older sons, Nadav and Avihu, offer a “strange fire before G‑d, …” and die before G‑d. Aaron is silent and extremely upset by this tragedy.

G‑d commands the kosher laws, identifying the animal species allowed and forbidden for people to eat. Land animals may be eaten only if they have split hooves and also chew their cud; fish must have fins and scales; a list of non-kosher birds is given, and a list of kosher insects (four types of locusts). The people of Israel are taught about the  difference between the impure and the pure.


  1. Split hooves
  2. Kashrut
  3. Pure
  4. Impure
  5. Forbidden